Return to Homepage
Accommodation
Tariff & Terms
Booking Info
Travel
Breanish
You are Here



Ocean View Breanish
Uig
Isle of Lewis
HS2 9HB

Tel: 01851 870763
Mob: 07760 140658

e-mail:
angusmacritchie@hotmail.com


Four Stars



Things to Do

At the height of summer it gets dark at midnight and light around 3.00a.m. so there's plenty of time to enjoy everything that's on offer.

Beaches Uig has more than 10 sandy beaches. Uig Sands is 2 square kilometres, so there's lots of space.

Golf
  • Stornoway Golf Course - www.stornowaygolfclub.co.uk
  • Harris Golf Course - www.harrisgolf.com



  • Fishing Uig has some of the best Salmon fishing.

  • Uig Lodge - www.uiglodge.co.uk

  • Obbe Fishings, Harris - www.obbefishings.com

  • Archaeology
  • The 4,000 year old Callanish Standing Stones and Visitor Centre - www.calanishvisitorcentre.co.uk

  • Gearrannan Black House Village - www.gearrannan.com

  • Shawbost Norse Mill and Kiln.

  • Dun Carloway Broch.

  • Uig Community and Heritage Centre - for local history and tearoom during the summer months.


  • Sailing For a gentle sail in an old Hebridean fishing boat, Cuach out of Maivig, Uig, and An Sulaire out of Stornoway -     www.ansulaire.com

    Boat Trips and Cruises
  • Seatrek, based in Uig - www.seatrek.com

  • MV Cuma for island cruising, based in Uig - www.island-cruising.com

  • Kilda Cruises for St. Kilda and other islands, based in Harris - www.kildacruises.co.uk

  • Extreme
    Sports
  • Kayaking, canoeing, sailing, surfing, kiting, climbing, wildlife, hill-walking and more - www.adventurehebrides.com

  • Hebridean Surf Co. - www.hebrideansurf.co.uk

  • Art
    & Music
  • An Lanntair - arts centre, music and entertainment - www.lanntair.com

  • Hebfest - Hebridean Celtic Festival (Music), July 11th - 14th - www.hebceltfest.com

  • Simon Rivett, artist - www.simonrivett.co.uk

  • Artists David Greenall and Ruth Odell - www.greenallodellstudio.com

  • Borgh Pottery, studio pottery - www.borghpottery.com

  • Skoon Art Cafe, Harris - www.skoon.com

  • Eating Out There are several restaurants and hotels scattered across the island. Here are just some of them.

  • Uig Community Centre runs an excellent Cafe/Tea Shop throughout the summer.

  • Uig Community Shop has a cafe area selling hot and cold drinks and snacks.

  • Just down the road! Auberge Carnish - dine with style and sea views - www.aubergecarnish.co.uk

  • Loch Croistean Cafe, Restaurant and Gallery in the Old School House at Loch Croistean.

  • The Cross Inn, Port of Ness, Lewis - www.crossinn.com

  • The Doune Braes Hotel, Carloway, Lewis - www.doune-braes.co.uk

  • Scarista House, Harris - www.scaristahouse.com

  • Stornoway has a variety of takeaways - Fish & Chips, Pizza, Chinese and Thai.
  • Genealogy
  • Uig Museum, at Uig Community and Heritage Centre, holds local history records.

  • Seallam Visitor Centre, Harris, a chance to trace some of your Scottish Ancestry - www.seallam.com

  • Riding
  • Hebridean Equestrian Centre, near Stornoway - www.hebrideanequestrian.com

  • Tourist Information Further tourist information can be found at Visit Hebrides - www.visithebrides.com, and Visit Scotland - www.visitscotland.com.
    Wildlife &
    Natural
    Phenomena
    If you are visiting in the winter, the Aurora Borealis, or "Northern Lights", can be seen on crisp, clear and frosty nights. There is little light pollution here, so the normal night sky can be amazing.

    Animals Deer, Mink.

    Birds Golden Eagle, Sea Eagle, Merlin, Corncrake, Whooper Swan, Gannet, Puffin, Snowy Owl.

    Flowers Three types of local orchid, and other rare plants locally.

    Sea Animals Seals, Otter, Dolphins, Killer Whale, Minke Whale, Pilot Whale, Sperm Whale.